NASCAR Announces Three Vice President Promotions

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Dec. 22, 2008) – The National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing, Inc. (NASCAR)  announced today the promotion of Karen Leetzow, Paula Miller and Susan Schandel to vice president positions. Leetzow has been named vice president/deputy general counsel; Miller has been named vice president of human resources and organizational development; and Schandel […]

Does Dale Jr. Need a New Crew Chief?

“Does Dale Earnhardt Jr. need a new crew chief? My answer is yes! If Junior wants to win a championship he needs to part ways with his cousin and get someone else. Week in and week out you here the conversations between the two Juniors on the in-car radio and all they do is argue. […]

2008 Team Reviews: You Gibbs Yourself Away

What Happened: A manufacturer switch from Chevy also-ran to Toyota’s Top Dog reaped great horespower for the three Gibbs cars. It was evident from the first weekend at Daytona where Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin and Tony Stewart all shared time at the front. Kyle Busch enjoyed a dominant regular season in his first year with […]

2008 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champions Week – Day 5

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Dec. 5, 2008) – A busy week in New York City culminated Friday evening with the annual NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards Ceremony at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel. Jimmie Johnson, who etched his name in the NASCAR record books by becoming only the second driver in the sport’s history to win three consecutive […]

Yarborough Surprises Johnson With Ring Presentation

“DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Dec. 5, 2008) – Three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Cale Yarborough made an unannounced appearance tonight at the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards Ceremony at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City. Followed by a rousing standing ovation, Yarborough presented the championship ring to 2008 series champion Jimmie Johnson during this […]

2008 Team Reviews: DEI=DIE?

What Happened: After the company namesake, Dale Earnhardt Jr, left for Hendrick Dale Earnhardt Incorporated went winless for the first time since 1999. The team fielded four full-time teams, thanks in part to their merger with Ginn Racing in 2007. Martin Truex Jr was the highest finishing driver in 15th place, although Mark Martin had […]