2008 NASCAR Fantasy Preview: Infineon Raceway

Toyota Save Mart 350

I Can Hardly Stand It!

Just as I suspected last week, the race was won by fuel mileage. Not to take anything away from Dale Jr. or his team who made the right call but that is not racing in my book. And now this week we head to a road-course. I have one word for you. Boring!

My Pick To Win

My pick to win this week is Jeff Gordon. Jeff has struggled on the “cookie cutter” tracks this year but he is always good at Sonoma. Jeff has won 5 of the last 10 races at Sonoma and has a 2nd and 3rd place finish during that stretch also.

Sonoma Frontrunners

Tony Stewart is another guy who knows how to win on the road-course. However, Tony is better at Watkins Glen than he is at Sonoma. Tony has won twice at Sonoma during his 9-race career there and usually has at least a top 15 finish.

Kevin Harvick runs well at these tracks. Kevin finished 2nd to Juan Pablo Montoya last year but has never won here in 7 tries. Still this is a good track for him to get back in the groove.

Juan Pablo Montoya won this race last year for his first ever Cup win. Juan has struggled the last few weeks but this is just what the doctor ordered for him to break out of his mini slump.

Kurt Busch and Ryan Newman both do fairly well at Sonoma. Kurt has 3 top 5 finishes in 7 starts here while Ryan has 4 top 10’s in 6 starts including a runner-up finish a few years ago.

Boris Said is probably the best ringer that will try to make it this weekend. The entry list isn’t out yet but I would almost bet that road-course ringers would replace some drivers this weekend. Especially for those who are sitting on the bubble of the top 35 in owners points.

Watch Your Yahoo! C Group Picks

Keep a watch on the entry list, which should come out on Tuesday. Pick your C driver from this group in the Yahoo league but make sure that at least one of your drivers is in the top 35 in owner’s points so you have someone who is sure to make the raced on your list.

Yahoo! Fantasy Picks

Group A

  • Jeff Gordon (starter)
  • Tony Stewart

Group B

  • Juan Pablo Montoya (starter)
  • Robby Gordon (starter)
  • Ryan Newman
  • Jamie McMurray

Group C

  • Boris Said (starter)
  • Sam Hornish Jr