Fans To Decide Entry Into The NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race

Sprint Fan Vote Opens April 17

Sprint announced the return of the Sprint Fan Vote, a voting competition powered by fans to award one team a starting spot in the May 17 NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race at Lowe’s Motor Speedway.

Voting begins April 17 and closes at 7 p.m. EDT May 17. Race fans may vote multiple times. New this year, as a bonus to Sprint customers, votes placed on Sprint phones will count twice.

Voting is available through the following channels:

  • On Sprint phones text “NASCAR” to 7777 and follow the received directions (standard text messaging and data rates apply)
  • At participating Sprint stores
  • Trackside at the Sprint Experience

Past Fan Vote winners include Ken Schrader (2004), Martin Truex Jr. (2005), Kyle Petty (2006) and Kenny Wallace (2007).

“I wish that all the drivers could feel what I felt last year when I was voted into the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race,” said Wallace. “It solidifies what I’ve been doing the last 22 years. I look forward to rooting on the winner of the Fan Vote this year.

To be eligible for the Sprint Fan Vote, drivers must have been in the top 50 in NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver point standings in 2007 or have attempted to qualify for a 2008 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race prior to March 10. The driver with the most votes who finishes the Sprint Showdown on the lead lap will transfer to the prestigious field. The Sprint Fan Vote winner will be announced following the completion of the Sprint Showdown.

Tune in to SPEED May 17 at 7 p.m. EDT to see who will win the 2008 Sprint Fan Vote.

Eligible Drivers: AJ Allmendinger, John Andretti, Stanton Barrett, Johnny Benson, Dave Blaney, Wart Burton, Patrick Carpentier, Bill Elliott, Dario Franchitti, David Gilliland, Robby Gordon, Jeff Green, Sam Hornish Jr., Kasey Kahne, Travis Kvapil, Burney Lamar, Carl Long, Sterling Marlin, Jeremy Mayfield, Eric McClure, Paul Menard, Joe Nemechek, Kyle Petty, David Ragan, Tony Raines, David Reutimann, Scott Riggs, Ricky Rudd, Elliott Sadler, Boris Said, Johnny Sauter, Ken Schrader, Mike Skinner, Regan Smith, Reed Sorenson, David Stremme, Brian Vickers, Jacques Villeneuve, Kenny Wallace, Michael Waltrip, J.J. Yeley.