NASCAR Track Facts: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Allstate 400

Here is a quick run down of trivial facts and statistics for this weekend’s Allstate 400 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Speedway, IN.

Allstate 400

Indianapolis Motor Speedway History

  • Indianapolis Motor Speedway has existed since 1909, and is the original “Speedway,” the first racing facility historically to incorporate the word into its name.
  • With a permanent seating capacity for more than 257,000 people and infield seating that raises capacity to an approximate 400,000, it is the largest and highest-capacity sporting facility in history.

Track Numbers

  • NASCAR Cup Series Races: 14
  • Pole Winners: 7
  • Race Winners: 9
  • The first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway was held in 1994.
  • Five drivers have competed in all 14 races at IMS: Jeff Burton, Bill Elliott, Jeff Gordon, Bobby Labonte and Mark Martin.
  • Rick Mast won the first pole in 1994.
  • Jeff Gordon won the 1994 inaugural race.
  • Jeff Gordon leads all pole winners with three.
  • Nine drivers have won, led by Jeff Gordon with four.
  • Dale Jarrett (two) and Tony Stewart (two) are the other multiple winners.
  • Hendrick Motorsports has won five races, more than any other organization.
  • Seven races have been won from a top-five starting position.
  • The furthest back a race winner has started at Indianapolis was 27th, by Jeff Gordon in 2001.
  • There has been one green-white-checkered finish at Indianapolis: 2004 (161/160).
  • The only time in the modern era that three brothers led at least one lap in the same race occurred in the inaugural race at Indianapolis (1994): Geoffrey, Brett and Todd Bodine.
  • Dale Jarrett (1996) and Jimmie Johnson (2006) are the only drivers to win both the Daytona 500 and the Allstate 400 in the same season.
  • Kyle Busch has an average finish of 7.0 in three Indianapolis races, the best of any driver with more than one race.
  • The winner of the Indianapolis race has won the championship in the same year six times in the 14 years the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series has raced at Indy:
    • 2006: Jimmie Johnson
    • 2005: Tony Stewart
    • 2001: Jeff Gordon
    • 2000: Bobby Labonte
    • 1999: Dale Jarrett
    • 1998: Jeff Gordon

Track Records

  • Track qualifying record: Casey Mears (186.293 mph, 48.311 secs., 8-7-04)
  • Track race record: Bobby Labonte (155.912 mph, 8-5-00)

Qualifying/Race Data

  • 2007 pole winner: Reed Sorenson (184.207 mph, 48.858 seconds)
  • 2007 race winner: Tony Stewart, 117.379 mph, 7-29-07)

Indianapolis Race Day Data

  • Estimated Pit Window: Every 30-32 laps, based on fuel mileage.
  • Race # 20 of 36 (7-27-08)
  • Track Size: 2.5 miles
  • Race Length: 400 miles (160 laps)
  • Banking/Corners: 9 degrees
  • Banking/Straights: 0 degrees