NASCAR Track Facts: Las Vegas Motor Speedway

“NASCAR heads to Las Vegas Motor Speedway this weekend for the third race of the 2009 NASCAR season.
2009 Shelby 427
Here is a quick run down of trivial facts and statistics for this weekend’s Shelby 427 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway in Las Vegas, NV.

Las Vegas Motor Speedway History

  • The first NASCAR race at Las Vegas Motor Speedway was a NASCAR Camping World Series, West race won by Ken Schrader on Nov. 2, 1996.
  • The first NASCAR Sprint Cup race was held on March 1, 1998, won by Mark Martin.
  • The first NASCAR Nationwide Series race was held on March 16, 1997, won by Jeff Green.
  • The first NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race was won by Jack Sprague on Nov. 3, 1996.

Track Numbers

  • There have been 11 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.
  • Five drivers have participated in all 11 races: Jeff Burton, Jeff Gordon, Dale Jarrett, Bobby Labonte and Mark Martin.
  • Dale Jarrett won the inaugural pole at Las Vegas (Feb. 27, 1998).
  • Eight drivers have poles, led by Dale Jarrett, Kasey Kahne and Bobby Labonte (two each).
  • Seven different drivers have won, led by Jimmie Johnson (three).
  • Only four of the 11 races have been won from a top-10 starting position and none have been won from the pole.
  • Four of the 11 races have been won from a starting position outside the top 20.
  • The deepest in the field that a race winner has started was 25th, by Matt Kenseth in 2004.
  • There has been one green-white-checkered finish at Las Vegas: 2006 (270/267).
  • Qualifying has never been canceled at Las Vegas.
  • Matt Kenseth has a 9.0 average finish in nine Las Vegas races, the best of any driver with more than three starts. He has been running at the finish in all nine of those races and has finished on the lead lap in eight. Kenseth has also led 438 laps at Las Vegas – 179 more than any other driver.
  • Roush Fenway Racing had five drivers finish in the top 10 in the inaugural Las Vegas 400 in 1998. In five of the 11 races, the winner at Las Vegas was driving for Roush at the time: Mark Martin (1998), Jeff Burton (1999 and 2000) and Matt Kenseth (2003 and 2004).

Las Vegas Motor Speedway Data

  • Race # 3 of 36 (3-1-09)
  • Track Size: 1.5 miles
  • Race Length: 285 laps/427.5 miles
  • Banking/Corners: 20 degrees
  • Banking/Frontstretch: 9 degrees
  • Banking/Backstretch: 9 degrees

Qualifying/Race Data

  • 2008 pole winner: Kyle Busch (182.352 mph, 29.613 seconds)
  • 2008 race winner: Carl Edwards (127.729 mph, 3-2-08)
  • Track qualifying record: Kasey Kahne (184.856 mph, 29.212 seconds, 3-9-07)
  • Track race record: Mark Martin (146.554 mph, 3-1-98)
  • Estimated Pit Window: Every 50-55 laps, based on fuel mileage