NASCAR Track Facts: Lowe’s Motor Speedway

Coca-Cola 600

Here is a quick run down of trivial facts and statistics for this weekend’s Coca-Cola 600 at Lowe’s Motor Speedway in Concord, NC.

Coca-Cola 600

Lowe’s Motor Speedway History

  • Construction began in 1959.
  • The first NASCAR Sprint Cup race was held on June 19, 1960.
  • The first NASCAR Nationwide Series race was May 29, 1982.
  • The first night race was the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race in 1992. The first night (twilight) point race was in the spring of 1993.
  • The track was repaved mid-season in 1994.
  • The first NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series race at LMS was on May 16, 2003.
  • The 2003 fall race was the first race at Lowe’s to be run completely at night.
  • The track was re-paved before the 2006 season.

Track Numbers

  • NASCAR Cup Series Races: 98
  • Pole Winners: 36
  • Race Winners: 40
  • Fireball Roberts won the pole for the first race at LMS, in 1960.
  • Joe Lee Johnson won the first race at LMS, in 1960.
  • David Pearson has the most poles at LMS with 14
  • David Pearson posted 11 straight poles at Charlotte from the fall of 1973 through 1978.
  • Jeff Gordon and Ryan Newman lead active drivers with seven poles each.
  • Jeff Gordon won five straight spring race poles from 1994 to 1998.
  • Bobby Allison and Darrell Waltrip lead all drivers with the most wins at LMS with six each.
  • Jimmie Johnson and Jeff Gordon lead active drivers in wins with five victories each.
  • Hendrick Motorsports has won 15 races at LMS, more than any other organization.
  • There have been 13 back-to-back victories at Lowe’s, including three in-a-row by Fred Lorenzen (fall 1964 – fall 1965).
  • A sweep has occurred eight times at LMS, including three of the past four seasons: Jimmie Johnson (2004 and 2005) and Kasey Kahne (2006).
  • 13 races have been won from the pole, the last by Jimmie Johnson in the spring of 2004.
  • Jimmie Johnson won the 2003 Coca-Cola 600 from the 37th starting position, the furthest back a race winner has started at LMS.
  • Hendrick Motorsports has won seven of the past 10 races at Lowe’s Motor Speedway. Three different HMS drivers have won there since 2002, including sweeps in 2004 and 2005 by Jimmie Johnson and an organization sweep last season by Casey Mears and Jeff Gordon.

Track Records

  • Track qualifying record: Elliott Sadler (193.216 mph, 27.948 secs., 10-13-05)
  • Track race record: Bobby Labonte (151.952 mph, 5-28-95)

Lowe’s Motor Speedway Race Day Data

  • Estimated Pit Window: Every 50-55 laps, based on fuel mileage.
  • Race # 12 of 36 (5-25-08)
  • Track Size: 1.5 miles
  • Banking/Corners: 24 degrees
  • Banking/Frontstretch: 5 degrees
  • Banking/Backstretch: 5 degrees
  • Frontstretch: 1,980 feet
  • Backstretch: 1,500 feet