NASCAR Track Facts: Talladega Superspeedway

Aaron’s 499

Here is a quick run down of trivial facts and statistics for this weekend’s Aaron’s 499 at Talladega Superspeedway in Talladega, Alabama.

Aarons 499

Talladega History

  • Construction began on Talladega Superspeedway on May 23, 1968.
  • The first NASCAR Sprint Cup race was held on Sept. 14, 1969.
  • The second race was moved from July to October in 1997.

Track Numbers

  • NASCAR Cup Series Races: 77
  • Pole Winners: 33
  • Race Winners: 13
  • Races Won from Pole (or 1st Starting Position): 1 (Kasey Kahne, 2006)
  • Bobby Isaac won the first NASCAR Sprint Cup pole at Talladega in September 1969. Isaac went on to win the first three poles there.
  • Bill Elliott leads all drivers with eight poles at Talladega.
  • Jeremy Mayfield, Joe Nemechek and Elliott Sadler lead all active drivers with three poles each at Talladega.
  • Richard Brickhouse won the first NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Talladega.
  • 35 different drivers have posted victories at Talladega led by Dale Earnhardt (10); 18 drivers have won more than once.
  • Jeff Gordon leads all active drivers with six victories at Talladega.
  • Rick Hendrick has won 10 races at Talladega, more than any other car owner.
  • 31 of 77 races at Talladega have been won from a top-two starting position, including 13 from the pole; 21 have been won from a starting position outside the top 10.
  • The furthest back in the field that a Talladega race winner started was 36th by Jeff Gordon in 2000.
  • All of the NASCAR Sprint Cup races at Talladega have been scheduled for 188 laps, 500 miles.
  • Bobby Hamilton won the caution-free 2001 spring Talladega race with an average speed of 184.008 mph. His average speed for 188 laps was just 0.853 mph slower than the Coors Light Pole speed for that race set by Stacy Compton.
  • Mark Martin’s pace in the 1997 spring race set an all-time NASCAR Sprint Cup record for the fastest race ever run. He won the caution-free race with an average speed of 188.354 mph and covered the 500-mile distance in two hours, 39 minutes and 18 seconds.
  • Dale Earnhardt Jr., finished 42nd and 14th in his first two races at Talladega. In his 14 races there since, he finished eighth or better nine times, including five victories and two second-place finishes. His four consecutive victories (October 2001 through April 2003) are the most ever by a driver at Talladega. Buddy Baker (three, May 1975 through May 1976) is the only other driver to win more than two consecutive races there.

Track Records

  • Track qualifying record: Bill Elliott (212.809 mph, 44.998 seconds, 4-30-87)
  • Track race record: Mark Martin (188.354 mph, 5-10-97)

Talladega Superspeedway Race Day Data

  • Estimated Pit Window: Every 34-36 laps, based on fuel mileage.
  • Race # 9 of 36 (4-27-08)
  • Track Size: 2.66 miles
  • Race Length: 188 laps/500 miles
  • Banking/Corners: 33 degrees
  • Banking/Frontstretch: 16.5 degrees
  • Banking/Backstretch: 2 degrees
  • Frontstretch: 4,300 feet
  • Backstretch: 4,000 feet